June 26, 2012

All the aged care facilities at WDHS are Australian Government funded Residential Aged Care Facilities (but residents are still required to pay for their care) and are regularly monitored by the Australian Aged Care Quality Agency.

Each Aged Care facility is committed to providing ongoing high quality care to their residents, and we welcome and encourage your input and ideas that you may have to improve our service.

The Australian Government introduced nationally legislated standards of care, which each facility must meet and be accredited for, to receive ongoing funding.

The Australian Aged Care Quality Agency (the Agency) is the independent body responsible for managing the accreditation and ongoing supervision of Commonwealth-funded aged care homes.

The Accreditation Standards are detailed in the Quality of Care Principles 1997.

There are four standards:

  • Management systems, staffing and organisational development
  • Health and personal care
  • Resident lifestyle
  • Physical environment and safe systems

Each Standard comprises a Principle and a number of expected outcomes. There are 44 expected outcomes across the four Standards.

All of our aged care facilities with WDHS have met all 44 expected outcomes across the four Aged Care Standards and are fully accredited by the Australian Aged Care Quality Agency.